New York State has announced that it will suspend the New York State driver licenses of taxpayers who owe more than $10,000 in back taxes. The program will begin with the mailing of suspension notices to 16,000 delinquent taxpayers. These taxpayers will then have sixty (60) days to pay the outstanding balance or enter into a payment agreement with the Tax Department. If the taxpayer fails to respond to the sixty-day letter, the Department of Motor Vehicles will send a second letter granting another 15 days to respond. The State will then suspend the driver’s license of those who do not respond to the second letter until the debt is paid or a payment plan implemented.

In New York, individuals caught driving with a suspended license are subject to civil and criminal penalties, including fines of up to $500 and jail or probation for up to 30 days. Taxpayers with a suspended license can, however, apply for a restricted license that allows them to drive to work and return directly home. Certain taxpayers are exempt from this program including (1) drivers holding commercial driver’s licenses and (2) drivers making certain child or combined child and spousal support payments. Taxpayers that believe they are subject to these exemptions should notify the Tax Department immediately to prevent a suspension of their license.

This article is general and informational in nature and you should read the terms of our legal disclaimer regarding its use.